Rob Magnuson Smith longlisted for the Sunday Times Short Story Award


Writers from six countries and across four continents, including Colum McCann, Deborah Levy and Petina Gappah, make up the 12-strong longlist for the £30,000 2016 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award.

Now in its seventh year, the award “has a reputation for showcasing established and emerging writers”, the organisers have said. The longlist this year is made up of “Backcountry” by Maggie Shipstead, “Clap Hands” by Thomas Morris, “Poppies in the Snow” by Madhulika Liddle, “The Dacha” by Alix Christie and “The Elector of Nossnearly” by Rob Magnuson Smith.

Levy’s “The Glass Woman” and McCann’s “What Time is it Now?” join “The Human Phonograph” by Jonathan Tel, “The Master Swordsman” by Marcel Theroux, “The News of Her Death” by Petina Gappah, “The Phosphoresence” by Nicholas Ruddock and “Unbeschert” by Edith Pearlman on the longlist.

This year’s judging panel comprises broadcaster Melvyn Bragg; critic and commentator Alex Clark; novelist and short story-writer Mark Haddon, and award winning author Rose Tremain. Andrew Holgate, Literary Editor of The Sunday Times, completes the line-up, alongside the non-voting chair of judges Lord Matthew Evans.

Read more from the bookseller here.