Oyinkan Braithwaite Nominated for Inaugural The Future Awards Africa Prize for Literature

Brittle Paper/The Future Awards Africa ©

The Future Awards, established in 2006, are a set of awards given by The Future Project, a social enterprise committed to human and capital development especially in Africa. Described by Forbes as the “most important awards for outstanding young Africans,” The Future Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of young people between the ages of 18 and 31 in the year under consideration.

The Future Awards categories, totaling 21, range from advocacy to technology. Notably, 2019 is the first year in which there will be an award for the category of Literature. According to The Future Awards site, The Future Awards Africa Prize for Literature “recognizes the personal and professional achievements of young writers within the year in view.” Authors who have previously won The Future Awards include Ayodami Adebayo for the category of Arts and Culture in 2017 and Chimamada Ngozi Adichie for the category of Young Person of the Year in 2008.

Nominees for The Future Awards Africa 2019 (#TFAA2019) were unveiled in a program co-hosted by actor Francis Sule and CEO of Anita Brows Beauty Anita Adetory that was aired across various television channels and radio stations on November 3, 2019.

Winners will be announced on November 24, 2019.


Click here to read more on the Brittle Paper website.