Diana Evans and Emily Dugan longlisted for 2019 Orwell Prize

Longlists for four 2019 Orwell Prizes were announced today, including the inaugural Orwell Prize for Political Fiction sponsored by Richard Blair and A. M. Heath, and Orwell Prize for Political Writing lists, marking the 70th anniversary of George Orwell’s novel Nineteen Eighty-Four.

Meanwhile, in the Orwell Prize for Journalism and Orwell Prize for Exposing Britain’s Social Evils there was a strong showing from local reporting from the UK and Ireland, with nominations for the Dublin InquirerManchester Evening News and Archant’s investigation Unit.

The Orwell Prizes aim to encourage excellence in writing and thinking about politics. Winning entries should strive to meet Orwell’s own ambition ‘to make political writing into an art’. They should be of equal excellence in style and content, and the writing must live up to the values of The Orwell Foundation.

The Longlist for the 2019 Prize for Political Fiction is:

  • An American Marriage, Tayari Jones, Oneworld
  • Brother, David Chariandy, Bloomsbury Publishing
  • House of Stone, Novuyo Rosa Tshuma, Atlantic Fiction
  • In Our Mad and Furious City, Guy Gunaratne, Tinder Press
  • Ironopolis, Glen James Brown, Parthian Books
  • Milkman, Anna Burns, Faber & Faber
  • Ordinary People, Diana Evans, Chatto & Windus
  • Perfidious Albion, Sam Byers, Faber & Faber
  • Red Clocks, Leni Zumas, The Borough Press
  • Sabrina, Nick Drnaso, Granta
  • Silence is My Mother Tongue, Sulaiman Addonia, The Indigo Press
  • The Ice Migration, Jacqueline Crooks, Pepal Tree Press

The Longlist for the 2019 Orwell Prize for Journalism is:

  • Peter Apps, Inside Housing
  • Steve Bloomfield, Prospect
  • Oliver Bullough, The Guardian; The Observer
  • Jason Cowley, The New Statesman; Granta
  • Emily Dugan, BuzzFeed News UK
  • Amelia Gentleman, The Guardian
  • Robert Guest, The Economist
  • Lois Kapila, The Dublin Inquirer
  • James Kirkup, The Spectator
  • Maeve McCleneghan, The Bureau of Investigative Journalism
  • Suzanne Moore, The Guardian
  • Peter Oborne, The Daily Mail
  • Sean O’Neill, The Times
  • Kim Sengupta, The Independent

Click here to view more.