The Edge Hill Short Story Prize was founded in 2006 by the world’s first Professor of Short Fiction, Ailsa Cox, to highlight the intricate artisanship of short story writing and acknowledge the wealth of published collections available.

The twelve strong longlist represents an exciting range of new writing from UK and Irish writers, and this year, for the very first time, includes two collections of flash fiction.

The longlist in full is:

Leila Aboulela – Elsewhere Home (Telegram/SAQI)
Michael Conley – Flare and Falter (Splice)
Wendy Erskine – Sweet Home (Stinging Fly)
Clare Fisher – How the Light Gets In (Influx Press)
Mia Gallagher – Shift (New Island)
Vicky Grut – Live Show Drink Included (Holland Park Press)
Rosemary Jenkinson – Catholic Boy (Doire Press)
Chris Power – Mothers (Faber & Faber)
Lionel Shriver – Property (The Borough Press)
David Szalay – Turbulence (Jonathan Cape)
Simon Van Booy – The Sadness of Beautiful Things (Penguin)
Lucy Wood – The Sing of the Shore (4th Estate)

A short list will be announced by September 2019, with the winner of the £10,000 prize announced at a ceremony in London in November.

The judges of this year’s prize are Elizabeth Baines (writer and short story expert), Tessa Hadley (Winner of the 2018 Edge Hill Short Story Prize) and Sam Jordison (writer, journalist and co-founder of Galley Beggar Press).

The ceremony will also include a £1,000 reader’s choice award to an author from the shortlist, and a further category for short stories by Edge Hill University’s MA Creative Writing students.

The 2018 prize was awarded to Tessa Hadley for Bad Dreams (Jonathan Cape).  The Reader’s choice winner was Sarah Hall for Madame Zero (Faber & Faber).

Click here to find out more.