Bernie McGill and Michael Hughes shortlisted for EU prize for literature

EU Prize for Literature

EWC, EIBF and FEP coordinate the jury organisation and selection procedures in the participating countries. Jury members are appointed by EIBF, EWC and FEP Members.

In 2019, EWC coordinated the organisation of the juries of Finland, Greece, Ireland, Lithuania, Romania, EIBF those of France, Italy, Ukraine and UK and FEP those of Austria, Georgia, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia.

Shortlisted candidates:

  • Niamh Boyce, Her Kind, Dublin: Penguin Ireland, 2019
  • Jan Carson, The Fire Starters, London: Transworld, 2019
  • Rosemary Jenkinson, Catholic Boy, Galway: Connemara, 2019
  • Bernie McGill, The Watchhouse, London: Tinder Press, 2017

Shortlisted candidates:

  • Benjamin Wood, The Station on the Path to Somewhere Better, London: Simon & Schuster, 2018
  • Michael Hughes, Country, London: John Murray, 2018
  • Melissa Harrison, All Among The Barley, London: Bloomsbury, 2018

The Winners will be announced Wednesday 22nd of May 2019.

Click here to view all the shortlists.